Various Artists – Southend Punk Vol. 1

Southend Punk Volune 1

Name of Artist: Various Artists
Name of Release: Southend Punk Volume One
Record Label: Angels in Exile Records / Catalogue Number: AIECD 004
Release Date: Friday December 4th, 2020
Format: CD

In 2006 Steve Pegrum launched the website ‘Southend Punk Rock History 1976 – 1986’ ( celebrating the Punk and Alternative heritage of this seaside town on the Thames Estuary. ‘Southend Punk Volume One’ is a compilation CD of 14 Tracks of Southend and Southend area Punk bands, many unpublished before. Inspired by Lenny Kaye’s Nuggets, there is one track each from the bands.

The album starts with The Machines ‘You Better Hear’ (formed in ’77 and who played The Roxy and Vortex) and The Steve Hooker Band ‘How Did You Know?’ from ’78 and ’79 respectively. The third track – ‘Radio Roy’ – by The Vicars features Alison ‘Alf’ Moyet on Vocals and is from a rare studio demo recording from 1979. This is followed by ultra rare tracks by The Deciballs, The Psychopaths, The Shocks & The Bullies (The latter featuring Perry Bamonte who later went on to play in The Cure).

The Icons, The Sinyx (formed in ’79) & The Kronstadt Uprising (formed in ’81) illustrate the ever evolving Punk scene as more Anarcho influences came into the mix. The Sinyx and The Kronstadt Uprising both released seminal 7″ Vinyl EP’s at the time so it is great to have them represented here. Enduring local bands Allegiance to No One, The Burning Idols, The Prey & The Armless Teddies continued the Punk spirit and illustrate the ever evolving Punk sound, some being published here for the first time, with the Teddies ending the compilation. (Volume Two will be on its way sooner, rather than later we hope).

The Full tracklisitng is:
01 The Machines – You Better Hear (1978), 02 The Steve Hooker Band – How Did You Know? (1979)003 The Vicars – Radio Roy (1979), 04 The Deciballs – Solitary (1979), 05 The Psychopaths – Drugs (1979) 06 The Shocks – Too Close For Comfort (1980), 07 The Bullies – The Fighting Continues (1980) 08 The Icons – 5:15 (1980), 09 The Sinyx – Animal (1981), 10 The Kronstadt Uprising – Blind People (1982/3). 11 Allegiance To No One – Aftermath (1983/4). 12 The Burning Idols – Give Me a Chance (1985), 13 The Prey – Sleepless Nights (1985), 14 The Armless Teddies – Serenade (1986)

Key ‘Southend Punk Volume One’ CD features include: 14 songs, all original compositions, plus 16 Page colour booklet designed by Viki Vortex, featuring rare photographs and memorabilia.

Angels in Exile Record Label  – and

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *