a a a a a

Feeding of the 5000 gig review

Posted on November 26, 2007
Filed Under Gigs | 8 Comments

Two nights of anarcho-punk at Shepherd's Bush Empire with the headline act of Steve Ignorant performing the Feeding of the 5000 plus other early songs.

The Disrupters were excellent! Napalm and Gas The Punx were particularly superb. The sound was great, the band well rehearsed and tight and the crowd soon warmed to them and they were very well received. Watch their performance of Rot In Hell here.

Conflict were terrible. I've seen them many times and this was their worst performance. They didn't soundcheck and the sound was abysmal. Consequently the audience were pretty apathetic and that seemed to transfer itself to the band. I didn't speak to anyone who enjoyed their set.

The sense of anticipation for Steve Ignorant's performance was immense. Screens showed Crass imagery and the band went straight into Do They Owe Us A Living? and blasting through the remainder of the album and other classics like Shaved Women, Big A Little A and Tribal Rival Rebel Revel. Steve gave 100%, so much so that he almost lost his voice.

Disappointment of the weekend for me were Zounds. I LOVE Curse of Zounds album, but the band were quiet, slow and lethargic. I'd never seen Zounds before so I don't know if that was an off night or a typical performance.

Flux of Pink Indians contained three original members with Ian Glasper taking over bass duties. They had just a half a dozen rehearsals and expectations amongst the crowd were high but many I spoke to thought they'd be unable to pull it off. Wrong, wrong, wrong!! Straight into Progress and the crowd erupted. They didn't put a foot wrong and thankfully they stuck to Strive To Survive era as well as throwing in the old Epiletics tune 1970s Were Made In Hong Kong. Many thought they were the band of the weekend.

Steve Ignorant's second performance saw the crowd a little less enthusiastic than the first night. I guess that was because they knew what to expect so the sense of anticipation wasn't as great. Steve's vocals nearly folded but he battled through it. The performance of possibly the weekend was female singer Sylvie standing in for Eve Libertine doing Shaved Women. She put in a breathtaking performance that made the hairs on the back of my neck stand up. Someone please put it on You Tube.

Comments

8 Responses to “Feeding of the 5000 gig review”

  1. Jona Hofman on December 1st, 2007 5:37 pm

    A great review of Steve’s gig. The female vocalist was Sadie Nine and the girl singing ‘Big A, little a’ was 12 year old Alice Wilkins.

  2. markus on December 2nd, 2007 8:29 pm

    i agree . conflict have been much better. i love them and they are top blokes but their sound was well messed up the first three numbers.
    i was on level 1 and couldnt here bass drum hoddys bass, or the snare.ive seen them loadsve times this wasnt the best theyd been but it was not their doing the sound guy messed up.i felt for them a bit.
    zounds were flat non committed and didnt seem into the gig at all. steves show was great but i didnt like his band members prancing around.good musicians but cut out the showmanship bollocks.the women on shaved women did a great job as did the young girl on big a little a(IF YOU WANNA SEE SHAVED WOMEN AND BIG A LITTLE A, GO TO YOUTUBE AND TYPE IN JANER64 )THEN the highlight of the weekend on came flux. kev the guitarist told me recently they had only rehearsed SIX TIMES !
    they blasted through their set as if theyd been on the road for six years ! it was the first time id seen them since 1983 but they were brilliant, faultless and totally energetic each to a man.they made the weekend.congratulations to them.and esecially ian glasper.
    i only hope they take the crowds reaction to them as a spur to do a tour ,or more gigs.they were one of the best bands of that punk era.judging by the show they did, maybe they still can be. FINGERS CROSSED. markus/surrey.

  3. esplenjohn on December 2nd, 2007 8:45 pm

    Thanks for all the feedback. Been reading many of the forums and the general consensus agrees with mine and Markus’s posts.

    That was Conflict’s own soundman so they have to take responsibility for that.

    Been onto You Tune and not much up there that’s very good. Here’s Big A Little A from Saturday: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hS8Kl282Xzw which was spoilt by the feedback on the intro. Here’s a great version of Bloody Revolutions: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_2J41GWf-wM and here’s a killer version of Shaved Women: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AFKLN-Mp01c&feature=related

  4. markus on December 2nd, 2007 8:53 pm

    nice one john.
    PLEASE FLUX, DO A UK TOUR.

  5. markus on December 2nd, 2007 8:55 pm

    PS TYPE IN JANER64 ON YOU TUBE. LOOK AT THE LADS VIDS. HES GOT FLUX THERE TOO !!! and other great stuff.

  6. Dion on December 3rd, 2007 5:47 pm

    I’d agree that flux were fantastic, and i’ve been told that they have already agreed to a benfit gig in the sussex area (i think?) so here’s hoping they play a few more dates soon.
    Yes conflict were dull.
    But zounds were great – steve lake was so full of enthusiasm and it felt like he really meant it, proper old punk! Yes they were anything but tight, but come on, they only reform rarely for these type of events, and lets face it, they have always been a rather ‘loose’ jam band – blame it on here & now and their improvised sets on their free tours!

    Iggs was great, and while this was a token tantrum, i for one was happy to throw my toys out of the pram for the weekend!!!!!

  7. markus on December 4th, 2007 8:47 pm

    cant agree. though zounds were awfull. theyve had more time to do the gig than flux did |(they played rebellion and others) flux were brilliant.

  8. esplenjohn on December 4th, 2007 8:52 pm

    Well the good news is that there’s some Flux dates in 2008.

Leave a Reply